| 16-20 Jan 2017, Macao

Technical Program

A13. Computational Design of Energy Materials


Organizer 1

Name : Vijay Kumar

Affiliation : Dr. Vijay Kumar Foundation and Shiv Nadar University, India

Email : kumar@vkf.in and vijay.kumar@snu.edu.in

Website : http://snu.edu.in/centers/Vijay_Kumar_profile.aspx

Organizer 2

Name : Yuan Ping Feng

Affiliation : National University of Singapore, Singapore

Email : phyfyp@nus.edu.sg

Website : http://www.physics.nus.edu.sg/phyfyp/

Organizer 3

Name : Xin-Gao Gong

Affiliation : Fudan University, China

Email : xggong@fudan.edu.cn

Website : http://www.physics.fudan.edu.cn/tps/people/xggong/xingao-gong.php


Research on materials for energy applications has been getting increasing attention in recent years because of the global challenges in meeting the increasing energy demand from fossil fuels and the interest in alternate sustainable and environment-friendly energy sources. Among these solar energy is abundant but new materials are needed to cheaply convert it in to electricity for wide usage. Also great efforts are going on to convert thermal waste in to electrical energy, fuel cells, battery materials, efficient solid state lighting materials, and novel catalysts. Computational studies are playing increasingly important role in understanding the structure-property relation and in finding new materials using high throughput calculations. This mini-symposium aims to bring together researchers working in areas related to these topics by using computational/theoretical methods. We plan to have keynote and invited lectures, as well as contributory talks in the following areas: 

●  Solar Energy Materials
●  Thermoelectric Materials
●  Materials for Batteries and Fuel Cells
●  Solid State Lighting Materials
●  Novel Catalysts

Keynote Speakers: 

●  Aron Walsh, Imperial College, UK
●  Christopher M Wolverton, Northwestern University, USA

Invited Speakers: 

●  Abhishek Singh, Indian Institute of Science, India
●  Aiichiro Nakano, University of Southern California, USA
●  Kechen Wu, Fujian Institute of Research on the Structure of Matter, China
●  Kristian Sommer Thygesen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
●  Kwang-Ryeol Lee, Korea Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea
●  Maria K Chan, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
●  Masanori Kohyama, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
●  Naoto Umezawa, National Institute for Materials Research, Japan
●  Priya Johari, Shiv Nadar University, India
●  Rajeev Ahuja, Uppsala University, Sweden
●  Sheng Meng, Institute of Physics, China

●  Si Zhou, Dalian University of Technology, China
●  Suhuai Wei, Beijing Computational Science Research Center, China
●  Volker Blum, Duke University, USA
●  Wenqing Zhang, Shanghai University, China
●  Yiyang Sun, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), USA

For program details, please click here