| 16-20 Jan 2017, Macao


The 10th International Conference on Computational Physics (ICCP10) will be held at Holiday Inn, Sands Cotai Central, Macao SAR, China from 16-20 January, 2017. The conference is jointly organized by Physical Society of Macao and International Union of Pure and Applied Physics in Switzerland.

ICCP10 is the 10th conference in the series. The most recent ICCP conference was held in Singapore in 2015 (http://www.physics.nus.edu.sg/iccp9/). ICCP10 aims to provide a platform for computational physicists, mathematicians, materials scientists and engineers to share their recent developments in frontiers of theory and numerical methods as well as applications in computational physics and exchange ideas. 

The conference will consist of two public lectures, plenary lectures, mini-symposia with invited and contributed oral presentations, and poster sessions. All researchers in computational physics, computational mathematics, computational science and applications or related disciplines are cordially invited to attend this conference.

Walter Kohn Honor for ICCP10

The 10th International Conference on Computational Physics (ICCP10) Will Honor Walter Kohn (1923 - 2016)

Credit: UCSB http://www.ucsb.edu/

ICCP10 which will be held in Macao on 16-20 January, 2017, is organized by the Physical Society of Macao and International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, with The University of Macau, The Southern University of Science and Technology of China, The Institute of Applied Physics and Computational Mathematics in Beijing and Communications in Computational Physics. It is today a world renowned conference on “Computational Physics”, per se.

Unquestionably, in the 21st century, one of the most powerful theoretical methods to quantum mechanical study of physics, chemistry and material sciences is by the so-called DENSITY FUNCTIONAL THEORY (DFT). It is not surprising that there is a significant number of papers contributed to ICCP10 utilizing DFT.

The pioneer of DFT was the late Professor Walter Kohn. Professor Kohn was a professor of physics of the University of California Santa Barbara, and a Nobel laureate in chemistry in 1998. The byline of the Nobel award is “for his development of the density functional theory”.

It is with great sadness that on 19th April, 2016, Professor Kohn died in his home in Santa Barbara. Due to a large number of scientists whose scientific careers are dependent on DFT who will be converging on ICCP10 (Due to the importance of DFT for ICCP10 and quite a number of papers are tightly related to DFT), the organizers of the conference want the conference as a venue to honor and celebrate the outstanding life of Professor Walter Kohn, both as a great human being and a world class scientist.

To this end, the organizers have made the decision to do the following: From the many contributions of ICCP10 with DFT as the underpinning, we shall select the best contribution and bestow an honorarium of $500 (U.S.) in memory and honor of Professor Walter Kohn’s profound humanity and scientific achievements.

  • 5/10/2016 3:33:22 PM

    ICCP10 is Now Calling for Papers!

    The ICCP10 is now calling for papers. All academics, researchers and practitioners of the related fields are enthusiastically encouraged to submit high-quality papers and cordially invited to attend this conference.

  • 4/1/2016 7:37:09 AM

    ICCP10 Now is Calling for Mini-Symposium Organizers!

    The conference chair is calling for mini symposium organizers. Anyone who is interested in organizing a mini-symposium can submit a proposal to the conference for consideration.

  • 3/30/2016 11:26:48 AM

    Prof. Aaron Ciechanover is Confirmed to be Our Public Lecturer!

    Prof. Aaron Ciechanover from the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, 2004 Nobel laureate in Chemistry, has accepted our invitation to speak in ICCP10.

  • 3/29/2016 4:12:37 PM

    Prof. Arieh Warshel is Confirmed to be Our Public Lecturer!

    Prof. Arieh Warshel from University of Southern California, 2013 Nobel laureate in Chemistry, confirmed to speak in ICCP10.

Public Lecturers

Plenary Speakers


Technical Sponsors